James Beard Awards

The James Beard Foundation Awards, also known as the "Oscars" of the food industry, are annual awards that recognize excellence in the culinary arts. The awards are named after James Beard, who is considered the "father of American gastronomy" and was a cookbook author, television personality, and food industry advocate. The James Beard Foundation was established in his honor in 1986, and the awards have been given annually since 1990.

There have been many James Beard Foundation Award winners over the years, across a wide range of categories that recognize excellence in the culinary arts. These categories include:

  • Best Chef
  • Outstanding Chef
  • Rising Star Chef
  • Outstanding Restaurant
  • Outstanding Bar Program
  • Outstanding Baker
  • Outstanding Pastry Chef
  • Outstanding Service
  • Outstanding Wine Program
  • Outstanding Wine, Beer, or Spirits Professional
  • Outstanding Restaurant Design
  • Outstanding Restaurant Graphics

In addition to these categories, the James Beard Foundation also gives awards for journalism, broadcasting, and food-related books.

Some notable James Beard Foundation Award winners over the years include:

  • Julia Child (Outstanding Chef, 1995)
  • Alice Waters (Outstanding Chef, 1998)
  • Thomas Keller (Outstanding Chef, 2003)
  • Daniel Boulud (Outstanding Chef, 2006)
  • Grant Achatz (Best Chef, Midwest, 2007)
  • David Chang (Rising Star Chef, 2006; Best Chef, New York City, 2009)
  • Christina Tosi (Outstanding Pastry Chef, 2015)
  • Nancy Silverton (Outstanding Chef, 2014; Outstanding Baker, 2018)
  • Dominique Crenn (Best Chef, West, 2016; Outstanding Chef, 2019)
  • Aska (Best New Restaurant, 2015)
  • Saison (Outstanding Restaurant, 2018)
  • Eleven Madison Park (Outstanding Restaurant, 2017; Outstanding Service, 2018)
  • Zingerman's (Outstanding Service, 2017)

This list is just a small sampling of the many talented chefs and restaurants that have been recognized by the James Beard Foundation over the years.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.